Bermuda Arts Council

About The Bermuda Arts Council

The Arts Council was founded by an Art of Parliament in 1969 with the intent to promote public awareness of the value of arts and its continued development and growth to Bermudian society as it relates to our youth and all Bermudians and visitors alike.

The Principal objectives of the Council is to develop and improve the knowledge, understanding and practice of the arts; to increase the accessibility of the Arts whether by means of Festivals of the Arts, or otherwise, to the public throughout Bermuda and to advise and cooperate with Government Departments, art groups and societies in Bermuda and other bodies on any matters concerned whether directly or indirectly with the foregoing objectives.

The Bermuda Arts Council Grants

The intent of the program is to provide financial assistance to enhance the quality of life in the community by fostering and strengthening the arts and culture, supporting artistic excellence and stimulating wider community appreciation and participation.

Applications for grants are available from the Bermuda Arts Council under three broad categories (click link to download):

Annual Awards Ceremony

The Bermuda Arts Council Annual Awards Ceremony is an event that honors Bermuda Artist in the following categories:

The Life Time Achievement Award is presented to those persons who are respected in their art form, and who have created a significant body of original work that is representative of the Bermudian spirit.

The Founder Award is presented to those persons who are, or were, pioneers in their respective art form, and thus have been mentors/ role models for their fellow artists and the generations to follow.

The Patron Award is presented to those persons who have been benefactors to the Bermuda Arts Community. The award signifies the appreciation of the Bermudian community.

The Earl Cameron Award, in honour of Bermuda’s distinguished son Earlston J. Cameron, CBE, recognizes expertise and vision. Introduced in 2019, this occasional award will be presented to a Bermudian professional in early-or mid-career who has demonstrated exceptional passion, commitment and talent in the field of theatre, cinematography, film or video production. This expertise will be evidenced through their body of work in one or several areas including writing, directing, acting and technical production.

Congrats to the 2019 Recipients of the Bermuda Arts Council Annual Awards:

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Sheilagh Head
  • Ronald Lightbourne

Founder Award

  • Suzette Harvey
  • Lloyd Matthew

Patron Award

  • John Campbell

Earl Cameron Award

  • Lucinda Spurling

If you would like to nominate a recipient please submit a submission to

2020 Arts Council Members

  • Jennifer Phillips, Chair
  • Dr. Sajni Tolaram, Deputy Chair
  • Hannah Collins
  • Royce-Ann Dill
  • Michael Jones
  • Alyssa Rose
  • Charmaine Friday
  • Cindy Swan
  • Chet Trott
  • Najib Chentouf
  • Dr. Kim Dismont Robinson, Ex-Officio Member

The Bermuda Arts Council

Government Administration Building
30 Parliament Street, 3rd Floor
Hamilton, HM 12